Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Staffordshire Moorlands, in numbers

People and living standards: Staffordshire Moorlands

Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 95,723 in 1991 to 96,764 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire Moorlands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 93,478 people in 1996; 96,764 people in 2025. 3.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Staffordshire Moorlands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199195,723
199295,461
199395,154
199494,369
199593,971
199693,478
199793,332
199893,390
199993,468
200093,977
200194,555
200294,927
200394,997
200494,980
200595,342
200695,888
200796,295
200896,604
200996,781
201096,987
201197,209
201296,936
201396,958
201497,235
201597,102
201696,932
201796,947
201896,591
201996,366
202095,955
202195,975
202295,831
202396,031
202496,528
202596,764
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire Moorlands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,688 people in 1996; 14,620 people in 2025. 17.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Staffordshire Moorlands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,310
199218,245
199318,218
199418,102
199517,935
199617,688
199717,540
199817,377
199917,334
200017,305
200117,276
200217,209
200317,126
200416,851
200516,699
200616,666
200716,434
200816,222
200916,094
201016,081
201116,022
201215,822
201315,751
201415,714
201515,709
201615,556
201715,543
201815,430
201915,257
202015,080
202114,979
202214,951
202315,032
202414,843
202514,620
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire Moorlands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 60,330 people in 1996; 55,619 people in 2025. 7.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Staffordshire Moorlands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199162,432
199262,097
199361,614
199460,960
199560,675
199660,330
199760,194
199860,338
199960,224
200060,494
200160,736
200260,856
200360,766
200460,780
200561,014
200661,319
200761,485
200861,542
200961,295
201060,927
201160,605
201259,570
201358,932
201458,608
201557,981
201657,561
201757,269
201856,776
201956,306
202055,846
202155,699
202255,371
202355,180
202455,474
202555,619
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire Moorlands council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,460 people in 1996; 26,525 people in 2025. 71.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Staffordshire Moorlands council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,981
199215,119
199315,322
199415,307
199515,361
199615,460
199715,598
199815,675
199915,910
200016,178
200116,543
200216,862
200317,105
200417,349
200517,629
200617,903
200718,376
200818,840
200919,392
201019,979
201120,582
201221,544
201322,275
201422,913
201523,412
201623,815
201724,135
201824,385
201924,803
202025,029
202125,297
202225,509
202325,819
202426,211
202526,525
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 95,844 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Staffordshire Moorlands · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6580.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1880.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9020.9%
White93,93198%
Other ethnic group1650.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 97,106 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Staffordshire Moorlands · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White95,82598.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6020.6%
Asian/Asian British5020.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1200.1%
Other ethnic group570.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 94,488 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Staffordshire Moorlands · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White93,76299.2%
Mixed3560.4%
Asian/Asian British1990.2%
Black/Black British550.1%
Chinese/Other1160.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 9.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Staffordshire Moorlands council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,793 per person in 1997; £23,399 per person in 2024. 138.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Staffordshire Moorlands council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,793
199810,249
199910,616
200010,993
200111,584
200211,713
200312,097
200412,525
200512,909
200613,540
200714,038
200814,541
200914,689
201014,932
201115,029
201215,468
201316,210
201416,780
201517,879
201617,940
201718,405
201818,876
201919,186
202019,531
202119,898
202220,840
202322,003
202423,399
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Staffordshire Moorlands council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.7% in 1997; -9.9% in 2024. 2.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Staffordshire Moorlands council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.7
1998-5.3
1999-6.2
2000-7.6
2001-6.4
2002-7.4
2003-7.2
2004-7.7
2005-8.2
2006-7.5
2007-8.5
2008-7.7
2009-8.3
2010-7.5
2011-7.8
2012-8.4
2013-7.5
2014-7.2
2015-6
2016-6.8
2017-6.6
2018-7.5
2019-8.9
2020-7
2021-8.9
2022-9.2
2023-10
2024-9.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.7%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.5%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.1%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.6%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£224,000

July 2026 · Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£728

August 2026 · Staffordshire Moorlands local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.