Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Stafford, in numbers

People and living standards: Stafford

Stafford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Stafford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 119,504 in 1991 to 142,903 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Stafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 121,988 people in 1996; 142,903 people in 2025. 17.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Stafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,504
1992119,832
1993120,319
1994120,873
1995121,268
1996121,988
1997123,205
1998122,711
1999121,621
2000120,884
2001120,712
2002121,409
2003122,447
2004123,224
2005124,361
2006125,620
2007127,055
2008128,320
2009129,041
2010130,001
2011130,895
2012131,324
2013131,485
2014131,312
2015131,221
2016132,507
2017133,199
2018134,069
2019135,286
2020135,685
2021137,201
2022138,618
2023140,321
2024141,610
2025142,903
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Stafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,616 people in 1996; 23,579 people in 2025. 0.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Stafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,046
199223,207
199323,441
199423,645
199523,575
199623,616
199723,691
199823,602
199922,867
200022,418
200122,156
200222,051
200321,978
200421,898
200521,956
200621,974
200722,113
200822,190
200922,162
201022,165
201122,202
201222,053
201321,990
201421,800
201521,717
201622,024
201722,223
201822,542
201922,874
202022,982
202123,253
202223,432
202323,593
202423,667
202523,579
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Stafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 78,937 people in 1996; 85,497 people in 2025. 8.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Stafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,133
199278,052
199378,136
199478,349
199578,489
199678,937
199779,896
199879,359
199978,894
200078,315
200178,110
200278,702
200379,448
200479,872
200580,602
200681,470
200782,255
200882,823
200982,792
201083,023
201183,187
201282,708
201382,160
201481,456
201580,961
201681,376
201781,289
201881,265
201981,549
202081,508
202182,350
202283,053
202384,064
202484,831
202585,497
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Stafford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,435 people in 1996; 33,827 people in 2025. 74.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Stafford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,325
199218,573
199318,742
199418,879
199519,204
199619,435
199719,618
199819,750
199919,860
200020,151
200120,446
200220,656
200321,021
200421,454
200521,803
200622,176
200722,687
200823,307
200924,087
201024,813
201125,506
201226,563
201327,335
201428,056
201528,543
201629,107
201729,687
201830,262
201930,863
202031,195
202131,598
202232,133
202332,664
202433,112
202533,827
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 136,870 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stafford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,1653%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4401.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,5521.9%
White127,80593.4%
Other ethnic group9080.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 130,869 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stafford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White124,30895%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6941.3%
Asian/Asian British3,2882.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,1070.8%
Other ethnic group4720.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 120,670 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stafford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White117,55997.4%
Mixed1,0020.8%
Asian/Asian British1,1691%
Black/Black British5840.5%
Chinese/Other3560.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Stafford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,522 per person in 1997; £25,383 per person in 2024. 141.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Stafford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,522
199810,892
199911,392
200012,044
200112,736
200212,960
200313,391
200413,608
200513,977
200614,614
200715,096
200815,530
200915,583
201015,693
201115,800
201216,187
201316,969
201417,663
201518,767
201618,742
201719,186
201819,704
201920,603
202020,418
202120,966
202222,143
202323,855
202425,383
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Stafford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -0.8% in 1997; -2.2% in 2024. 1.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Stafford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-0.8
19980.6
19990.7
20001.2
20012.9
20022.4
20032.7
20040.3
2005-0.6
2006-0.2
2007-1.6
2008-1.4
2009-2.7
2010-2.8
2011-3
2012-4.2
2013-3.1
2014-2.3
2015-1.3
2016-2.7
2017-2.6
2018-3.5
2019-2.2
2020-2.7
2021-4
2022-3.6
2023-2.4
2024-2.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.9%

21 March 2021 · Stafford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.3%

21 March 2021 · Stafford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.8%

21 March 2021 · Stafford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.9%

21 March 2021 · Stafford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£258,000

July 2026 · Stafford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£901

August 2026 · Stafford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.