Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Tamworth, in numbers

People and living standards: Tamworth

Tamworth local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Tamworth local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 70,529 in 1991 to 81,392 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Tamworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,251 people in 1996; 81,392 people in 2025. 12.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Tamworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,529
199270,804
199371,344
199471,653
199572,074
199672,251
199773,072
199873,880
199974,003
200074,107
200174,596
200274,519
200374,544
200474,424
200574,724
200675,078
200775,407
200875,824
200976,255
201076,582
201176,895
201277,283
201377,308
201477,371
201577,632
201677,688
201777,327
201877,480
201977,698
202077,968
202178,842
202279,662
202380,476
202480,877
202581,392
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Tamworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,320 people in 1996; 14,841 people in 2025. 14.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Tamworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,512
199217,433
199317,538
199417,559
199517,509
199617,320
199717,288
199817,239
199917,163
200016,860
200116,722
200216,510
200316,260
200415,883
200515,696
200615,551
200715,366
200815,248
200915,322
201015,355
201115,364
201215,411
201315,254
201415,119
201515,031
201614,948
201714,766
201814,791
201914,823
202014,766
202114,880
202215,098
202315,211
202415,050
202514,841
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Tamworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,369 people in 1996; 50,538 people in 2025. 6.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Tamworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,130
199246,349
199346,607
199446,785
199547,156
199647,369
199748,044
199848,742
199948,755
200049,038
200149,489
200249,504
200349,618
200449,623
200549,856
200650,118
200750,369
200850,522
200950,537
201050,381
201150,237
201249,936
201349,608
201449,349
201549,357
201649,171
201748,646
201848,412
201948,333
202048,432
202148,935
202249,288
202349,798
202450,103
202550,538
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Tamworth council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 7,562 people in 1996; 16,013 people in 2025. 111.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Tamworth council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19916,887
19927,022
19937,199
19947,309
19957,409
19967,562
19977,740
19987,899
19998,085
20008,209
20018,385
20028,505
20038,666
20048,918
20059,172
20069,409
20079,672
200810,054
200910,396
201010,846
201111,294
201211,936
201312,446
201412,903
201513,244
201613,569
201713,915
201814,277
201914,542
202014,770
202115,027
202215,276
202315,467
202415,724
202516,013
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 78,642 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tamworth · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,0811.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4920.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4721.9%
White75,30995.8%
Other ethnic group2880.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 76,813 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tamworth · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,76197.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8031%
Asian/Asian British7631%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3930.5%
Other ethnic group930.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 74,531 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Tamworth · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White73,10698.1%
Mixed4880.7%
Asian/Asian British3980.5%
Black/Black British3730.5%
Chinese/Other1660.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Tamworth council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,099 per person in 1997; £20,842 per person in 2024. 157.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Tamworth council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,099
19988,253
19998,740
20008,987
20019,596
20029,778
200310,230
200410,366
200510,638
200611,210
200711,444
200811,806
200912,453
201012,407
201112,605
201213,118
201313,637
201414,255
201514,765
201615,117
201715,621
201816,193
201917,061
202017,190
202117,558
202218,017
202319,443
202420,842
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Tamworth council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -23.7% in 1997; -19.7% in 2024. 4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Tamworth council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-23.7
1998-23.8
1999-22.7
2000-24.5
2001-22.4
2002-22.7
2003-21.5
2004-23.6
2005-24.3
2006-23.5
2007-25.4
2008-25
2009-22.2
2010-23.2
2011-22.6
2012-22.3
2013-22.1
2014-21.2
2015-22.4
2016-21.5
2017-20.7
2018-20.7
2019-19
2020-18.1
2021-19.6
2022-21.5
2023-20.5
2024-19.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.8%

21 March 2021 · Tamworth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Tamworth local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.8%

21 March 2021 · Tamworth local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · Tamworth local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£229,000

July 2026 · Tamworth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£925

August 2026 · Tamworth local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.