Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Cannock Chase, in numbers

People and living standards: Cannock Chase

Cannock Chase local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Cannock Chase local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 89,344 in 1991 to 104,299 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Cannock Chase council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 90,327 people in 1996; 104,299 people in 2025. 15.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Cannock Chase council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199189,344
199289,789
199390,134
199490,255
199590,173
199690,327
199790,602
199891,266
199991,624
200091,835
200192,165
200293,000
200393,751
200494,179
200594,772
200694,991
200795,391
200895,999
200996,514
201096,898
201197,582
201297,537
201397,578
201497,703
201597,502
201697,312
201797,693
201898,553
201998,983
202099,565
2021100,595
2022101,126
2023103,070
2024103,955
2025104,299
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Cannock Chase council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,687 people in 1996; 18,224 people in 2025. 7.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Cannock Chase council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,204
199219,393
199319,528
199419,739
199519,662
199619,687
199719,688
199819,686
199919,765
200019,725
200119,495
200219,494
200319,411
200419,168
200519,038
200618,874
200718,658
200818,534
200918,482
201018,329
201118,344
201218,052
201317,929
201417,831
201517,632
201617,490
201717,483
201817,632
201917,718
202017,784
202118,035
202218,087
202318,338
202418,313
202518,224
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Cannock Chase council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 58,870 people in 1996; 64,974 people in 2025. 10.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Cannock Chase council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199159,089
199259,095
199359,085
199458,942
199558,817
199658,870
199759,016
199859,526
199959,532
200059,649
200160,001
200260,565
200361,157
200461,548
200562,055
200662,379
200762,782
200863,122
200963,272
201063,288
201163,437
201262,999
201362,668
201462,413
201561,991
201661,625
201761,688
201862,113
201962,088
202062,336
202162,855
202263,113
202364,408
202464,764
202564,974
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Cannock Chase council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,770 people in 1996; 21,101 people in 2025. 79.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Cannock Chase council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,051
199211,301
199311,521
199411,574
199511,694
199611,770
199711,898
199812,054
199912,327
200012,461
200112,669
200212,941
200313,183
200413,463
200513,679
200613,738
200713,951
200814,343
200914,760
201015,281
201115,801
201216,486
201316,981
201417,459
201517,879
201618,197
201718,522
201818,808
201919,177
202019,445
202119,705
202219,926
202320,324
202420,878
202521,101
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 100,523 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cannock Chase · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,2081.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4720.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,4221.4%
White97,13196.6%
Other ethnic group2900.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 97,462 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cannock Chase · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White95,25697.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8670.9%
Asian/Asian British9821%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2800.3%
Other ethnic group770.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 92,126 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cannock Chase · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White90,87298.6%
Mixed4060.4%
Asian/Asian British5060.5%
Black/Black British1540.2%
Chinese/Other1880.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Cannock Chase council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,607 per person in 1997; £20,857 per person in 2024. 142.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Cannock Chase council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,607
19988,878
19999,310
20009,540
200110,175
200210,354
200310,683
200410,818
200511,139
200611,716
200711,991
200812,337
200912,904
201012,919
201113,084
201213,624
201314,158
201414,747
201515,414
201615,709
201716,161
201816,606
201917,066
202017,564
202117,631
202218,618
202319,673
202420,857
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Cannock Chase council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -18.9% in 1997; -19.7% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Cannock Chase council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-18.9
1998-18
1999-17.7
2000-19.9
2001-17.7
2002-18.2
2003-18
2004-20.3
2005-20.8
2006-20
2007-21.9
2008-21.7
2009-19.4
2010-20
2011-19.7
2012-19.3
2013-19.2
2014-18.4
2015-19
2016-18.4
2017-18
2018-18.6
2019-19
2020-16.3
2021-19.3
2022-18.9
2023-19.5
2024-19.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.3%

21 March 2021 · Cannock Chase local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.6%

21 March 2021 · Cannock Chase local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22%

21 March 2021 · Cannock Chase local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.4%

21 March 2021 · Cannock Chase local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£237,000

July 2026 · Cannock Chase local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£867

August 2026 · Cannock Chase local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.