Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Staffordshire, in numbers

People and living standards: South Staffordshire

South Staffordshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Staffordshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 104,586 in 1991 to 114,811 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 104,536 people in 1996; 114,811 people in 2025. 9.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991104,586
1992104,657
1993104,810
1994104,880
1995105,128
1996104,536
1997104,900
1998104,702
1999105,183
2000105,405
2001105,942
2002106,013
2003106,300
2004106,300
2005106,428
2006106,655
2007107,144
2008107,501
2009107,561
2010108,050
2011108,318
2012108,331
2013109,840
2014109,886
2015109,704
2016109,814
2017110,302
2018110,338
2019110,478
2020110,243
2021110,787
2022111,567
2023113,280
2024114,174
2025114,811
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,496 people in 1996; 17,922 people in 2025. 12.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,691
199220,680
199320,779
199420,798
199520,742
199620,496
199720,529
199820,493
199920,561
200020,405
200120,273
200220,038
200319,904
200419,592
200519,267
200618,972
200718,721
200818,398
200918,029
201017,826
201117,590
201217,520
201317,288
201417,030
201516,836
201616,754
201716,813
201816,934
201916,890
202016,966
202117,121
202217,495
202317,802
202417,903
202517,922
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 69,017 people in 1996; 66,788 people in 2025. 3.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,789
199270,516
199370,201
199469,878
199569,777
199669,017
199768,955
199868,399
199968,546
200068,531
200168,715
200268,486
200368,384
200468,219
200568,196
200668,252
200768,437
200868,403
200968,101
201068,050
201168,051
201267,187
201368,149
201467,662
201567,062
201666,696
201766,894
201866,343
201966,078
202065,683
202165,711
202265,527
202366,405
202466,669
202566,788
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,023 people in 1996; 30,101 people in 2025. 100.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,106
199213,461
199313,830
199414,204
199514,609
199615,023
199715,416
199815,810
199916,076
200016,469
200116,954
200217,489
200318,012
200418,489
200518,965
200619,431
200719,986
200820,700
200921,431
201022,174
201122,677
201223,624
201324,403
201425,194
201525,806
201626,364
201726,595
201827,061
201927,510
202027,594
202127,955
202228,545
202329,073
202429,602
202530,101
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 110,475 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Staffordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,1082.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,0310.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,2422%
White103,57093.7%
Other ethnic group5240.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 108,131 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Staffordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White103,70095.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,4951.4%
Asian/Asian British2,1222%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5780.5%
Other ethnic group2360.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 105,896 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Staffordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White103,82598%
Mixed6290.6%
Asian/Asian British9560.9%
Black/Black British3130.3%
Chinese/Other1730.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Staffordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,911 per person in 1997; £26,228 per person in 2024. 140.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,911
199811,416
199911,715
200012,308
200112,846
200213,199
200313,509
200413,788
200514,294
200615,013
200715,672
200816,203
200916,176
201016,406
201116,422
201216,841
201317,424
201418,050
201519,297
201619,329
201719,801
201820,055
201921,030
202020,949
202122,083
202223,384
202324,747
202426,228
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Staffordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 2.8% in 1997; 1% in 2024. 1.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19972.8
19985.4
19993.6
20003.4
20013.8
20024.3
20033.6
20041.6
20051.7
20062.5
20072.1
20082.9
20091
20101.6
20110.8
2012-0.3
2013-0.5
2014-0.2
20151.4
20160.4
20170.5
2018-1.7
2019-0.2
2020-0.2
20211.1
20221.8
20231.2
20241
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.3%

21 March 2021 · South Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.1%

21 March 2021 · South Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.3%

21 March 2021 · South Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.3%

21 March 2021 · South Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£311,000

July 2026 · South Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£958

August 2026 · South Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.