Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

East Staffordshire, in numbers

People and living standards: East Staffordshire

East Staffordshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

East Staffordshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 97,943 in 1991 to 131,541 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

East Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 99,588 people in 1996; 131,541 people in 2025. 32.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — East Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199197,943
199297,659
199397,742
199498,343
199599,695
199699,588
1997100,942
1998102,482
1999102,068
2000102,828
2001103,938
2002104,487
2003106,065
2004106,800
2005107,609
2006108,466
2007109,776
2008111,191
2009112,033
2010112,979
2011113,858
2012114,853
2013115,724
2014116,812
2015117,657
2016118,986
2017119,782
2018120,861
2019122,052
2020123,096
2021124,486
2022125,987
2023128,186
2024130,069
2025131,541
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

East Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,285 people in 1996; 24,692 people in 2025. 16% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — East Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,396
199220,501
199320,798
199421,100
199521,392
199621,285
199721,426
199821,587
199921,767
200021,860
200122,051
200222,181
200322,195
200422,074
200522,022
200621,824
200721,733
200821,737
200921,828
201021,810
201121,762
201221,978
201322,187
201422,364
201522,552
201622,851
201722,890
201823,012
201923,180
202023,354
202123,608
202223,884
202324,505
202424,784
202524,692
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

East Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 62,641 people in 1996; 81,212 people in 2025. 29.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — East Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199162,702
199262,192
199361,818
199461,971
199562,787
199662,641
199763,584
199864,651
199964,168
200064,705
200165,522
200265,805
200367,130
200467,820
200568,497
200669,387
200770,556
200871,478
200971,761
201072,256
201172,819
201272,767
201372,940
201473,399
201573,737
201674,442
201774,881
201875,466
201976,144
202076,728
202177,624
202278,222
202379,278
202480,210
202581,212
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

East Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,662 people in 1996; 25,637 people in 2025. 63.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — East Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,845
199214,966
199315,126
199415,272
199515,516
199615,662
199715,932
199816,244
199916,133
200016,263
200116,365
200216,501
200316,740
200416,906
200517,090
200617,255
200717,487
200817,976
200918,444
201018,913
201119,277
201220,108
201320,597
201421,049
201521,368
201621,693
201722,011
201822,383
201922,728
202023,014
202123,254
202223,881
202324,403
202425,075
202525,637
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 124,021 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · East Staffordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh11,5529.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,3761.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,7232.2%
White107,05186.3%
Other ethnic group1,3191.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 113,583 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · East Staffordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White102,70490.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,6191.4%
Asian/Asian British7,8646.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,0230.9%
Other ethnic group3730.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 103,770 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · East Staffordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White97,44793.9%
Mixed8910.9%
Asian/Asian British4,4864.3%
Black/Black British6340.6%
Chinese/Other3120.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

East Staffordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,143 per person in 1997; £22,329 per person in 2024. 120.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — East Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,143
199810,330
199910,867
200011,188
200111,763
200211,985
200312,270
200412,475
200512,777
200613,393
200713,802
200814,144
200914,475
201014,495
201114,574
201214,952
201315,539
201416,059
201516,810
201616,783
201717,212
201818,172
201918,743
202018,406
202118,621
202219,725
202321,133
202422,329
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

East Staffordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -4.4% in 1997; -14% in 2024. 9.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — East Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-4.4
1998-4.6
1999-3.9
2000-6
2001-4.9
2002-5.3
2003-5.9
2004-8.1
2005-9.1
2006-8.5
2007-10.1
2008-10.2
2009-9.6
2010-10.3
2011-10.6
2012-11.5
2013-11.3
2014-11.2
2015-11.6
2016-12.8
2017-12.6
2018-11
2019-11
2020-12.3
2021-14.8
2022-14.1
2023-13.6
2024-14
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59%

21 March 2021 · East Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.7%

21 March 2021 · East Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.1%

21 March 2021 · East Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.8%

21 March 2021 · East Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£227,000

July 2026 · East Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£858

August 2026 · East Staffordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.