Skip to content
Staffordshire Counts — Staffordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Staffordshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Staffordshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Staffordshire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 791,588 in 1991 to 913,073 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 795,688 people in 1996; 913,073 people in 2025. 14.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991791,588
1992793,546
1993795,054
1994795,412
1995796,896
1996795,688
1997801,134
1998803,728
1999803,660
2000804,497
2001807,152
2002810,199
2003815,228
2004818,563
2005822,713
2006827,321
2007833,122
2008838,142
2009841,270
2010845,272
2011849,546
2012850,682
2013854,573
2014856,391
2015857,167
2016861,230
2017863,528
2018866,810
2019870,117
2020872,087
2021877,808
2022886,397
2023897,673
2024906,397
2025913,073
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 161,721 people in 1996; 153,059 people in 2025. 5.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991161,468
1992162,060
1993163,018
1994163,529
1995163,047
1996161,721
1997161,893
1998161,632
1999161,031
2000159,850
2001158,736
2002157,863
2003157,218
2004155,710
2005154,557
2006153,344
2007152,482
2008151,459
2009150,892
2010150,264
2011150,043
2012149,344
2013148,722
2014147,866
2015147,485
2016147,528
2017147,663
2018148,467
2019148,821
2020148,892
2021149,786
2022151,283
2023153,521
2024153,720
2025153,059
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 515,800 people in 1996; 551,332 people in 2025. 6.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991519,188
1992518,887
1993517,851
1994516,663
1995517,096
1996515,800
1997519,289
1998520,490
1999519,768
2000520,158
2001521,850
2002523,635
2003526,911
2004529,296
2005532,358
2006535,960
2007539,661
2008541,677
2009540,940
2010540,799
2011541,221
2012535,916
2013535,114
2014533,068
2015530,739
2016531,507
2017530,916
2018530,441
2019530,067
2020530,196
2021532,618
2022536,652
2023542,574
2024547,363
2025551,332
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Staffordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 118,167 people in 1996; 208,682 people in 2025. 76.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991110,932
1992112,599
1993114,185
1994115,220
1995116,753
1996118,167
1997119,952
1998121,606
1999122,861
2000124,489
2001126,566
2002128,701
2003131,099
2004133,557
2005135,798
2006138,017
2007140,979
2008145,006
2009149,438
2010154,209
2011158,282
2012165,422
2013170,737
2014175,457
2015178,943
2016182,195
2017184,949
2018187,902
2019191,229
2020192,999
2021195,404
2022198,462
2023201,578
2024205,314
2025208,682
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 876,104 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Staffordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh28,9103.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6,8890.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups15,2881.7%
White820,23393.6%
Other ethnic group4,7840.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 848,489 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Staffordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White811,61595.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9,6041.1%
Asian/Asian British20,6562.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,8100.6%
Other ethnic group1,8040.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 806,744 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Staffordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White787,62097.6%
Mixed4,9520.6%
Asian/Asian British9,4061.2%
Black/Black British2,6250.3%
Chinese/Other2,1410.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Staffordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,954.64 per person in 1997; £23,775.48 per person in 2024. 138.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,954.64
199810,289.55
199910,702.29
200011,156.04
200111,761.11
200211,992.12
200312,367.09
200412,608.68
200512,999.67
200613,633.16
200714,110.78
200814,563.16
200914,759.83
201014,882.78
201114,962.11
201215,408.81
201316,065.33
201416,665.28
201517,616.17
201617,667.75
201718,121.01
201818,742.28
201919,374.41
202019,373.07
202119,985.01
202220,885.32
202322,376.39
202423,775.48
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Staffordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -6.18% in 1997; -8.43% in 2024. 2.26 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Staffordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-6.18
1998-4.96
1999-5.39
2000-6.28
2001-4.93
2002-5.22
2003-5.12
2004-7.1
2005-7.53
2006-6.9
2007-8.04
2008-7.53
2009-7.82
2010-7.85
2011-8.17
2012-8.77
2013-8.28
2014-7.84
2015-7.4
2016-8.25
2017-8.02
2018-8.17
2019-8.05
2020-7.7
2021-8.51
2022-9.05
2023-8.48
2024-8.43
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.1%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.1%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.3%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.5%

21 March 2021 · Staffordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£251,000

July 2026 · Staffordshire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.